Location history records your movement even when you say “DON’T” – see how to block it

1 min read

Location history is fond of recording your movement even when you say “DON’T”.

Investigation shows that even though you turn off the Google location there is still traces of your location and all your movements.

According to findings by an Associated Press investigation it says that many Google services on Android devices as well as iPhones store your location data. They do this behavior even if you use a privacy setting that says it will prevent Google from doing so.

Now what is the workaround to this?

Computer-science researchers at Princeton noted it carries privacy risks.

Google on the other hand says, users can turn off another setting, one that does not specifically reference location information. They Called this feature “Web and App Activity”.

Investigators say the feature stores a variety of information from Google apps and websites to your Google account and when paused, it will prevent activity on any device from being saved to your account.

On a personal experience you can disable “Web & App Activity” and “Location History” which may stop both adding your movements to the “timeline,” and stopping Google’s collection of other location markers.

To see the stored location markers on a page in your Google account visit
myactivity.google.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Uncategorized